skip to Main Content

The 7th International Hawaii Cardiovascular Symposium (IHCVS) 2024

REGISTRATION FEE: (includes lunch, break food/beverages, meeting program)

Early Rate (Before January 24, 2024)
General $180.00 USD | Student/Trainee $90.00 USD
Standard Rate (After January 25, 2024*)
General $260.00 USD | Student/Trainee $130.00 USD

*If registering after Wednesday, January 31, 2024, lunch may not be provided due to ordering deadlines. 
Welcome Reception Dinner Party
Cafeteria of JABSOM (2/8/24): $40 (Registration before January 24, 2024)

Programs and Flyers

 📄  Program – 2024 IHCVS Feb 8-9, 2024

📄 IHCVS 2024 Flyer

We have poster sessions for junior investigators. Please submit your abstracts for poster
presentations to Ms. Kairee Ryplanski by January 24, 2024.


<strong>IHCVS Details</strong>

When: February 8-9, 2024
Where: UH Cancer Center Sullivan Center, 701 Ilalo Street, Honolulu, HI 96813


We are pleased to announce the upcoming meeting “The 7th Annual International Hawaii Cardiovascular Symposium (IHCVS)” taking place at UH Cancer Center Sullivan Center

The Symposium will explore the latest basic medical research on cell death, mitochondrial dynamics, autophagy, with a specific focus on heart failure. The program will host session talks by international experts on stem cell biology and myocardial repair, mitochondrial dynamics, autophagy, necrosis, and metabolism with a major focus on translating basic and clinical science to clinical heart failure. The Symposium is sponsored by John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, and the St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre, Winnipeg, Canada.


Abdellatif, Maha
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School, USA

Abel, Dale
UCLA Molecular Biology Institute, USA

Alcaide, Pilar
Tufts University School of Medicine, USA

Arany, Zoltan
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Ardehali, Hossein
Northwestern Medicine Feinberg School of Medicine, USA

Czubryt, Michael
University of Manitoba, Canada

Dhingra, Sanjiv
University of Manitoba, Canada

Fujio, Yasushi
Osaka University, Japan

Gramolini, Anthony
University of Toronto, Canada

Gustafsson, Åsa
University of California San Diego, USA

Hill, Joseph
UT Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Hirsch, Emilio
University of Torino, Italy

Kassiri, Zamaneh
University of Alberta, Canada

Kirshenbaum, Lorrie
University of Manitoba, Canada

Komuro, Issei
Tokyo University, Japan

Konstantinos, Drosatos
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, USA

Kontaridis, Maria
Masonic Medical Research Institute, USA

Lefer, David
Smidt Heart Institute at Cedars-Sinai, USA

Luo, Honglin
University of British Columbia, Canada

Manabe, Ichiro
Chiba University Graduate School of Medicine, Japan

Matsui, Takashi
JABSOM, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, USA

McKinsey, Timothy
University of Colorado Denver, USA

Megeney, Lynn
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, Canada

Michalak, Marek
University of Alberta, Canada

Molkentin, Jeffery
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, USA

Oudit, Gavin
University of Alberta, Canada

Polgar, Noemi
JABSOM, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, USA

Pulinilkunnil, Thomas
Dalhousie University, Canada

Rabinovich-Nikitin, Inna
University of Manitoba, Canada

Sadayappan, Sakthivel
University of Cincinnati, USA

Sadoshima, Junichi
Rutgers-New Jersey Medical School, USA

Sahoo, Susmita
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, USA

Schunke, Kathryn
JABSOM, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, USA

Steinberg, Susan
Columbia University, USA

Tallquist, Michelle
JABSOM, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, USA

Wingle, Jeffery
University of Manitoba, Canada

Yoshida, Masayuki
Tokyo Medical Dental University, Japan

Meeting Organizers






Lorrie A. Kirshenbaum, Ph.D.
Director, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre
Canada Research Chair in Molecular Cardiology
Head, Division of Cardiovascular Science and Disease,
Professor, Departments of Physiology and Pathophysiology, and Pharmacology and Therapeutics,
University of Manitoba

Ms. Kairee Ryplanski
Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, University of Manitoba






Takashi Matsui, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology
Deputy Director of the Center of Cardiovascular Research
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Ms. Michele Tom
Department of Anatomy, Biochemistry & Physiology, John A. Burns School of Medicine

Back To Top